Well since I live in Minnesota I've been "blessed" with the "honor" of listening to local sports pundits talk about this game from the opponents perspective. I'll let each and every one of you in on a secret. Those talking heads all think this is going to be a close game. I have laughed every time they've dissected this game and I am laughing right now as I see it sitting on this screen. There is, NO WAY, this is a close game. I'll tell you why.
1) Minnesota's strength is running the ball. Whether it be AP, Percy or Gerhart, they have the ability to run the ball. The last time I checked San Francisco is pretty good at stopping the run. They don't give up the big plays and you cant run the ball outside of the tackles on this defense. I expect Minnesota to continue trying to run the ball all game long, but really with no success.
With point 1 proven to be neutralized, we can now discuss my second point.
2) Minnesota will have no run game so how easy is it going to be for Dashon and Carlos to sit back there and cover the receivers. What the Niners are doing great this year is making teams one dimensional and crushing that one dimension. Ponder is the current version of Alex Smith (Schmiddy and I have discussed this and concur that he is the next Smith) and will have his worst day of the season. As improved as he is this year I don't see him having a good day tomorrow.
3) The best chance Minnesota has to get in the end zone is with their kicker, kicking field goals. He'll get plenty of chances, but you cant trade field goals for TD's. We know that first hand from last years Niners squad.
I think this game gets ugly and I think that it sets the tone for this long road trip through Youngstown, OH to next week's game at the Jets. Alex Smith gets over 300 yards passing, Moss gets 2 TD's, Davis gets another, Crabtree gets his first this year, Gore goes over 100 again and the Defense gets in the end zone.
Niners 38 Vikes 9
Who's got it better then us?
NOOOOOOOO-Bodddddyyy
No comments:
Post a Comment