I sit before you today, as if I were a kid on the eve of Christmas. It's been many years since I've had this feeling for an opening weekend of football. Don't get me wrong, I love the game and have for over 32 years. However, after what we saw last year with our beloved San Francisco 49ers there is no way to keep the feelings under wraps. I left Candlestick Park on that late, wet, January day in 2012 disappointed that the team had not booked themselves a trip to their sixth Super Bowl, which they surely would have won. I allowed myself the self pity that comes from being a life long fan, only for that walk from the stadium to the car. Upon arriving back at the car I realized, it was forgotten and time to look forward to next year. There was no reason to be disappointed or sad. Our day was coming! We had exceeded expectations. I've picked the Niners to win the NFC West for the last 5 years and only to see other "miracle" teams win it and make runs at the title only to come up short.
At the time of this post I am 48 hours from leaving for Green Bay to watch this team start their journey towards trophy number 6. I feel like come Sunday morning, when I wake up, it will be the best Christmas EVER! It's like when mom starts dating this new rich guy and you know he's going to drop a boat load of cash on your presents, so you just cant wait to wake up and tear open the paper. I know Moss, Jacobs and Manningham aren't going to lead the league in any respective categories, but they are going to help! They are contributing factors to this feeling. This child like feeling!
This season is going to be special. I'm scheduled to see three games in person and know that we have a chance to win each and every one!
Who's Got It Better Then Us????? Nooooo Body!!
Let's get 'em!
ReplyDelete